Travel to Belgium
Day 3 Bruges - Ghent - Brussels (100 Km.)
(in 50 Km.) Ghent: We leave Bruges and went to Ghent. There we gone directly to the belfry of Ghent, which houses the tourist office in which they explain us the most interesting places to visit. We started by the adjacent Saint Bavo Cathedral (XIV-XVI), which owns the famous Het Lam Gods (1432), several tombs and a picture of Rubens. Behind the cathedral is a monument to the brothers van Eyck and the geeraard of Duivelsteen, a castle from 1245.
Ghent - Van Eyck brothers monument
Changing direction, passing in front of city hall, of Gothic and Renaissance styles, built between the XV-XVII. We continue down to the port, where is the vegetable market, the house of the gallows of the eighteenth century, the Meat House (Groot Vleeshuis) and the grain store of the thirteenth century.
Ghent - Saint Nicholas´ Church
We arrived at Graslei, the first commercial port of Ghent, which is remarkable for the facades of the house as the union of sailors (Gildehuis van Vrije Schippers), the guild house of the measuring cereals (Coorenmetershuys) and warehouse cereals (Spijker). We continue through the port until you reach the St. Michael´s Bridge. From this point you can see at once the Saint Nicholas´ Church, the belfry tower and behind it the Saint Bavo Cathedral.
Ghent - Graslei
We cross the St. Michael´s Bridge towards the St. Michael´s church (XV-XVI) of gothic style. We walk through the opposite side of the medieval port, with picturesque houses of the Lintworn (XII-XVII). A little further is the museum of the design, a former palace of the eighteenth century. Continue over the bridge of beheadings, where you can see the unique historic wooden facade of Ghent (XVII-XVI century). At the other side of the bridge stands the Castle of the Counts of Flanders, a twelfth-century fortress that houses the Museum of Arms and Justice, with an impressive collection of objects of torture and arms.
Ghent - Castle of the Counts
Around the Sint-Veerleplein can observe different facades of the seventeenth and eighteenth century and the site of the fish market (1689). In the annexed Kraanlei street, at number 17, is the Manneken Pis of Ghent. After the Zuilvelburg is Dulle Griet, a large canyon from the fifteenth century. From here we reach one of the oldest places of Ghent, the Vrijdagmarkt. In the center stands the statue of Jacob van Artevelde (1290-1345). Finally, after passing through various streets, closing the loop coming back to the belfry tower.
Brussels - Atomium
(in 50 Km.) Brussels: At mid-afternoon march to the capital. We go to the outskirts of town to see the Atomium, built during the 1958 World Exposition in Brussels, the Atomium has become a true symbol of the capital of Belgium. Made of steel and aluminum, the set represents a particular molecule of iron from 102 meters, 30 meters long and 18 meters in diameter. After that go to the Grand Place, the nightlife hub around which already are a large number of restaurants.